Sunday, July 25, 2010

Movies I have to wait for... grrr

Aside from some other sequels (like Harry Potter, Twilight Saga, etc) and movies due out in the next couple months (Scott Pilgrim, Centurion, Tron, etc), I stumbled across some other ones that have me drooling. Now overtime isn't so bad... I need the money for all these trips to the theater!

Release date: 3/25/11
Sucker Punch is an upcoming American action-fantasy film written by Steve Shibuya and Zack Snyder, and directed by Snyder (Watchmen). The film follows a young girl in the 1950s about to be lobotomized and as she attempts to escape an asylum with her inmate friends. Snyder has described the film as "Alice in Wonderland with machine guns", including dragons, B-52 bombers and brothels.
"Set in the 1950s, it tells the story of Baby Doll, who is trying to hide from the pain caused by her evil stepfather and lobotomy. She ends up in mental institution and while there she starts to imagine alternative reality. She plans to escape from that imaginary world but to do that she needs to steal five objects before she is caught by a vile man. She has 5 days to escape before being lobotomized. In order to cope with the situation, she enters the hyper-real world of her imagination, and the lines between reality and dream begin to blur. She is joined with friends who are inmates from the institution. Lessons learned in the said fantasy world could help the girls escape their real-world fate."

Underworld 4 (9/23/11): The fourth chapter, a straight-up sequel taking place after the second film, arriving in 3D and featuring Kate Beckinsale back in Selene's skin.

Screenwriter John Hlavin says the movie will not be a prequel. "It will satisfy old fans and excite new audiences, meaning that we don't want to redo the first three movies, so steps are being taken to honor what fans have loved but at the same time introduce fresh elements."

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (American version of Swedish film) (12/21/11): A journalist-investigator and a precocious computer hacker become embroiled in life-threatening mysteries as they attempt to expose institutions that pull the strings behind the scenes. (I fully intend to see the Swedish version, but am curious to see how the remake-with actors I likely know-turns out.)

Must stop surfing the web late late (or is it early early?) in the day. 

Sunday, July 18, 2010

For your education...

A buddy, that wishes to stay anonymous, sent me this. Amazing, what happens when I bitch a little. *Remind me, if I ever do find a potential 'Mr. Right' to have him see this. ~ :) *




Excerpts from Christina Hendricks: A Letter to Men, published in Esquire May 2010

“We love your body. If we’re in love with you, we love your body. Your potbelly, everything. Even if you’re insecure about something, we love your body. You feel like you’re not this or that? We love your body. We embrace everything. Because it’s you.
Speaking of your body, you don’t understand the power of your own smell. Any woman who is currently with a man is with him partly because she loves the way he smells. And if we haven’t smelled you for a day or two and then we suddenly are within inches of you, we swoon. We get light-headed. It’s intoxicating. It’s heady.
We remember forever what you say about the bodies of other women. When you mention in passing that a certain woman is attractive — could be someone in the office, a woman on the street, a celebrity, any woman in the world, really — your comment goes into a steel box and it stays there forever. We will file the comment under “Women He Finds Attractive.” It’s not about whether or not we approve of the comment. It’s about learning what you think is sexy and how we might be able to convey it. It’s about keeping our man by knowing what he likes.
We also remember everything you say about our bodies, be it good or bad. Doesn’t matter if it’s a compliment. Could be just a comment. Those things you say are stored away in the steel box, and we remember these things verbatim. We remember what you were wearing and the street corner you were standing on when you said it.”

"Remember what we like. When I first started dating my husband, I had this weird fascination with the circus and clowns and old carnival things and sideshow freaks and all that. About a month after we started dating, he bought me this amazing black-and-white photo book on the circus in the 1930s, and I started sobbing. Which freaked him out. I thought, Oh, my God, I mentioned this three or four weeks ago and talked about it briefly, but he was really listening to me. And he actually went out and researched and found this thing for me. It was amazing.”

“About ogling: The men who look, they really look. It doesn’t insult us. It doesn’t faze us, really. It’s just — well, it’s a little infantile. Which is ironic, isn’t it? The men who constantly stare at our breasts are never the men we’re attracted to.

There are better words than beautiful. Radiant, for instance. It’s an underused word. It’s a very special word. “You are radiant.” Also, enchanting, smoldering, intoxicating, charming, fetching.

Marriage changes very little. The only things that will get a married man laid that won’t get a single man laid are adultery and whores. Intelligence and humor (and your smell) are what get you laid. That’s what got you laid when you were single. That’s what gets you laid when you’re married. Everything still works in marriage: especially intelligence and humor. Because the sexiest thing is to know you.”

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Peeking out from my hiding spot

Why I HATE “dating” in current times. Aka, what I had said to mom and various other people who are trying to butt in. Note: this is a farce, with some truths mixed in.


Meet a guy. Check each other out. Do the eye contact thing. Do the chatting thing, then flirting. Get asked to hang out. Meet up with him at a party, with mutual friends, in a group. Drink. Keep talking. Laugh. Get to know each other. Really hit it off. Exchange numbers.
Spend the rest of the weekend wondering if he’s going to call. Think about calling him first. Stumble over what the hell the rules are with this kind of thing. Sigh, frustrated that there are rules. Check your email. Spend the next hour stalking him online. Realize that before his first phone call, you already know some things you probably shouldn’t. Decide that you wish he would have called you instead. Shut off the computer. Stomp around.
Thursday comes around. Your phone beeps: text message. It’s him! Jump around excitedly. “What’s up?” he wants to know. You text back, telling him what’s up. He tells you that he’s hanging with friends this weekend. He asks if you want to meet up and chill. You say sure.
You meet up. In a group, at the bowling alley. Everyone’s a little sloppy. He kisses you. You jump around excitedly (on the inside). You kiss back. Weeks go by like this. Text message. Party. Hang out in groups. Decide to ignore the “rules”. Hookup late one night. Do the walk of shame. Repeat.
Realize that you’re a grown ass woman and that you’re still single. Decide that that’s stupid because you’re pretty awesome. Contemplate wearing a shirt that says, “I’m fucking awesome. Ask me out already.” Promise yourself that you’ll stop doing the stupid hookup thing.
Watch as hookup gradually turns into a relationship. Feel happy. Break up. Freak out. Repeat.
Complain that guys are lazy/idiots/not worth the effort. Wish desperately that you lived in the 1950s. Fantasize about innocent courtship. Remember that you could never deal with that much Jell-O salad or having to have your hair perfect all the effing time. Decide that maybe 1850’s sound better, or hell, the 0050’s. Rule out time travel as a dating technique. Wonder if you’re smart enough to build the machine anyways.
Continue to meet guys. Flirt. But stop any sort of prolonged, messy, friends-with-benefits thing before it starts. Because you have friends, and you don’t see how sleeping with them is a benefit.
Start to daydream about something better. About a guy who meets you and gets your number right away. Who calls instead of texts. Who doesn’t rely on email. A guy who tries aggressively to get to know you. Who, once he does, isn’t afraid to admit that he’s straight up and down crazy about you. A guy who finds it endearing that you’re a raging insomniac. Who will cook with you in the kitchen. Who will do things other than have sex with you, even if he’s killer in bed. Who notices that evil smile right before you’re going to do something slightly naughty, and winks.
A guy who will ask subtle questions about your favorite movies, and then watch them with you. Your favorite foods, and then get them for you. Your favorite time of day, and then make plans around it. A guy who doesn’t back down from your intensity. Who comes up behind you and brushes your hair to the side, kissing you on the back of the neck, catching you as your knees buckle. A guy who doesn’t follow the damn dating rules. A guy who you can’t help falling desperately in love with, as he’s falling just as hard for you.
And that’s when you realize you’re daydreaming (again). That you need to get back to class/work/cleaning. You wonder if you have any spare batteries for a certain toy, and figure it’s not worth it. You’re craving filet, and a Dollar Menu burger is not going to cut it.
Then you call/text a friend, not to talk... but just hang out. Or, like me right now... just go to bed.

Friday, July 16, 2010

LOL

Drama...

Fair warning, this post is pretty much a high-school-rant.
My mother is stalking my social network account. Now she is reading up on my friends' pages. Geez, I quit stalking them and she takes up the slack.
She knows the rules... My life and family life are to remain separate. I give an inch, she is going to take a mile. The reason this bugs me? She's asking why I posted such and such on a friend's page, why I "like" the updates, and has likely requested everyone as a friend of hers.
Very few of my buds have had to deal with my parents. Neither of my parents got to know the few guys I have seen. I tried very hard to not tell the last guy I dated about them, and give him a chance to get to know them if things progressed that way. My mother is waging an attack.
We had a long talk a few weeks back, where I basically told her to not ask when she is getting a grand-baby because I am just giving up on the idea of being coupled. I need to work on me, and I am sick of being the aggressor. If the guys aren't brave enough to ask me out, forget it. So she asked about the last guy I dated... I told her to let it go, like I had. Recently, she hinted for me to ask for a resume of his.  Apparently, she is smitten with him. Can't blame her, but want her to quit it. She made a point to tell me she was hurt that I kept the guys as secrets. Though we are a lot better than we have been in years, possibly a decade... She crossed a line I thought we had agreed upon. Her behavior is further guaranteeing me not discussing this topic with her... ever.
Whether he sees this or not...  I'm sorry.
To the other buds, friend her if you want... just keep in mind that with me taking away her dream of grand-babies, she's going to ask when she can babysit yours. Don't be surprised if she is making you a baby blanket.
So, in case you're questioning... No, I am not signing up for a dating site. It was an error when I tried it, and will likely yield the same results. I'm on a break, of sorts. If a guy asks, I might go out. But for now, I'm not hunting. My friends are my dates. I am loving my Girls' Dinners!!!!