Tuesday, February 2, 2016

The Promise of Cheesecake

Hi!

I'm hoping to trick myself into posting more often. For no other reason, but to keep a journal. I've misplaced about 10 notebooks: ones with recipes, lists of websites/things to look up, people's info, events, musing and notes. I know they are in a few potential spots... but my Journal from 2015 is missing... I'm going to be due to burn it shortly.
So, I'm posting what would be handwritten. I can always delete this one in a year-ish.

What's gone good:

Febtober and Pikachu are due to be parents soon. I'll have a legal niece to spoil. Plus, a brother to annoy with all the noisy, messy, amazing toys and snacks in her future.

Two and her hubby, Monkey, recently came back from honeymoon. No spawn were created while they enjoyed the gifted trip. I knew they'd make excuses to not have a honeymoon, hence it was my present to them. Plus their wedding cake. And being maid of honor. And making sis cry with my speech. Holy crap I need to find someone else to spoil! I'm using all this awesome love on someone that's not likely to keep me warm at night.

Cue the next good thing in the pipeline: Plans to get a pet.  It's maybe #5 on the list.
1. Get furniture
2. Get floor fixed that movers jacked
3. Finish hat for niece
4. Establish normal pattern for homeowner crud: Trash days, grocery days, cute guy jogging down the lane at 7 am days...
5. Get pet. Walk pet on cute guy days.
6. Plan garden. Wait, need grass first. Wait, need to level ground. Wait... need to bury lines.
SHIT!   Screw list. Chaos ensues... Pet shows up anyways.

Work is going well. SO much to learn, to grow... to teach and evolve.

Three is almost graduated.  And almost a full-fledged tattoo artist.    I wish her the best.

So.Many.Movies.This.Year.  Drooling over some choice selections. Getting my freaky nerd ON.  Happy nerdy girl!

This weekend, taking Two and Pikachu over the river.. for some nerd talk, shopping and noms. So easy to get car buddies when you promise cheesecake.  {Wild guess where we are going!}
Speaking of sweet stuff, I should make something soon. But first: Organize crud.


What's gone... not so good

Online dating is much like IRL dating: I smile at them... they look me over and dart off. Whatevs.

Being messy. I get antsy over it, but get so tired/overwhelmed.  Or I cause a problem trying to set things up. Like almost kill my new furnace with wrong settings on the thermostat.

Furniture taking a while to get built.  I am so behind on shows I should be obsessing over with siblings and Red.

Dad still not talking to me. Suspicions he is screwing me over... aka, a 3x normal electric bill due to him working on the place I walked away from.  Mom asks I 'keep track' and we will come to a decision.  Not sure if they will move into it, sell it... not really caring. Just don't want to bleed cash.

Hurts that aren't mine... but stir my empathy. Wishing for the path to be made clear, and strength for all to take it.
Lots of love... XOXO

Sunday, January 24, 2016

(cough) Why do I tend to post when I am not 100%?

Hey sweeties!
I tend to update my blog when BIG SCARY changes happen. Today's no different, lol.

Bought a house! Well, had it built... I admit it's a smaller floorplan than I hoped, but it's working. I need to get everything organized, but keep making excuses:
Getting mildly sick (ie tired, achy, no voice, but able to type - like now)
My social calendar has been a bit packed
General overwhelmed feeling
Lack of funds for more storage/furnishings
Lack of strength/stamina (thank goodness Red and Irish came over to hoist the bookcase)
Other things being higher priority
Seriously, GONNA set a timer on my phone, and pick a task. After I finish this cup of tea ...

Celebrated a year at my new job. I've learned so much, and have so much more to learn. Took Two to the Holiday Party (again). She had fun.. and a few drinks, and I took care to get her, and her "fuzzy teeth", home happy. She teased that if I get slack for her making a silly fool of herself... I cut her off with, "Trust me... they cool. You are perfectly fine. No embarrassment." Plus, I got to wave a Jedi lightsaber around!

Signed up for online dating. I suck at flirting. The bar scene is not me. I feel odd asking if friends have single people in their circle. I am so painfully introverted, and going extrovert exhausts me quickly. Nothing past a few emails has happened (and I paid for a year, upfront). I figure if nothing happens in that amount of time, I will have given it a shot and lost nothing but some money. I am a bit hesitant... worries about CatFishing, not having my profile get hits, getting the wrong hits... the normal stuff, lol.  But am I worried about getting rejected? Not really. Not in a "I'm so confident and awesome, only an idiot would not want to be with me" kind of way; sort of a "I can't force anything, and even Mr (kinda) Right may want to walk away".  But I am damn awesome. So I send a few smiles, ask a few of them questions... and wait to see where (and if) it goes anywhere.
If things work out, and next year "me" turns into "we", I'll just be awesome plus 1.

I'm looking forward to decking my place out. Few more weeks and the living room furniture arrives. I am so tempted to offer dinner if my (slightly OCD) sister comes to clean my place before they arrive.
I mostly hang out in my bedroom (the only room with a place to sit, lol).
Then thoughts of a Housewarming, settling into a life of my choosing and comfort level, adding to and evolving my happiness.

Patience... my least acute virtue.