I am less than two months into the year, and 30% of my pay is from overtime. You saw that right; my company has paid me time and a half for 90.5 hours so far, with more planned until flowers are blooming and snow is a distant memory. Work is trying to kill me, and I am letting it because I am a workaholic.
Problem is, it's just a job. It's not my career, or even remotely related to anything I ever wanted to do with my life. It's a paycheck. Meetings jack up my day, interrupting my usual flow, so I find it difficult to get my groove back and just do my job. Add in being asked to make a list of problems myself and coworkers face in everyday activities, wearing heels, talking in front of a group, etc... I was worthless today. I came close to what I needed to appease my supervisor, though. Like I have stated before, I shine when stressed.
But on to why I must be crazy. I spent the last few hours looking at schools. I am considering going further in debt, in hopes of finding a path I want. I spent weeks compiling lists of what I like to do, from simple hobbies to dreams I had of my future. In actuality, the lists became useless, but the patterns of what I like were shown. I enjoy math, science, getting my hands on something, dissecting, improving, redesigning, stretching the limits... Now to find an advanced degree to use that desire. I need to feed it, nurture it, build it from the tiny flame to a roaring fire. And the scary part... I am still a little unsure of which path to choose. Stay local, go away to school, see if I can find an online program? I still need to find a program.
I want a salaried job. I want to be high enough on the food chain that my pay is based upon merit, mind and abilities. I want to truely matter to the workplace, and not be a peon. I want to be passionate about going to work, not using it as a place that's better than doing nothing.
In college, I had my nose to the grindstone. I finished on time, actually quicker than the norm. I was shocked to be planning another semester and receiving my diploma in the mail. I had no clue I was done, and my degree was in hand! Looking back, I should have kept myself enrolled. My thirst for knowledge has not waivered, and filling my head with usless trivia about a job I don't want will not help in the long run. But the thirst is not focused... that's always been my stumbling block. I want to learn about almost anything that crosses my gaze, from people and hobbies to places and books. I just need to pick a road! Make a damn decision!
Ever been at a perceived crossroad, and feel like you were losing your mind trying to figure out which way to go? What was the push that got you through it? Where did that road take you? I want to know.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment